Header Graphic
Dirty-South Blues Harp forum: wail on! > Harmonica Lessons Average Price Per Hour
Harmonica Lessons Average Price Per Hour
Login  |  Register
Page: 1

kham
186 posts
Jan 04, 2021
11:41 AM
Any suggestions for beginner harmonica lessons per hour? I am not pro but feel I have enough chops to get beginners on the right path.

Any suggestions appreciated.
Tonyblues
44 posts
Jan 04, 2021
2:33 PM
Hi Kham, I charge $50 per hour and the way people act around here,(California) it's like I am giving it away way to cheap. I am a beginner sort of but feel like I can help those in need of a good start too so I feel my price is pretty fair. Not a pro price but good bang for buck. Good Luck
SuperBee
6870 posts
Jan 04, 2021
9:54 PM
Back in 2012 I was paying a guy $75USD per hour. That was probably close to top dollar at that time. Later I found several other highly credentialed tutors who were available for less eg $40-$50 zone.

That's quite a while back I suppose.

I've had some tuition from several high profile guys. One was $100 but only $70 if you bought in for a block of 4 lessons. I think a lot of teachers are doing that sort of deal.
The other consideration is the half hour option versus the full hour. Probably depends on what the student needs but I personally think a half hour/45 minutes might be more efficient.
Mirco
650 posts
Jan 05, 2021
11:43 AM
Over the years, I've taken lessons from a lot of pro-level guys, like Dave Barrett, Dennis Gruenling, Ronnie Shellist, Michael Rubin...

The price for a working professional (who either plays for a living or teaches for a living) tends to be around $75-100 an hour. They often offer discounts for lessons in bulk or if you commit. Dave Barrett, for example, used to mandate that his students take two hours of instruction a month. (Either a two hour block or 2 separate one hour lessons.) Dave was teaching harp for a living, though. He also rented a building to conduct lessons, so he needed to factor that into it.